CTMS Library is open every school day from 8:00-3:25 except for monthly faculty meetings and occasional special events.
Email: Username@students.olatheschools.com
Username: 123aem05 (example)
Password: What you use to log in at CT
Please see building technology staff to reset your password
Click the image to go to Olathe District's Homework Help page
Databases
ABC-CLIO
This is a set of databases purchased specifically for California Trail students. You will need a user name and password to access these off campus. Please email Mrs. Mateer for help with these.
Kansas State Library Databases
These databases are hosted and paid for by the state of Kansas. You can access them directly, if you are at school. You will need a state library card to access them off campus. Click here to request a Kansas State Library card
This hosts many databases across all curricular areas
This database is for researching authors and works of literature
This database is can help you find a similar book to read based on a title you have enjoyed.
The link will not take you directly into NoveList Plus. Scroll down until you find it listed on on the EBSCO page.
This database allows you to search historical events and people
The links on this page work by verifying your Kansas internet provider address. If they do not work for you, please login with your Kansas Library eCard to access the databases.
Mrs. Mateer can create a KS State Library card for you. Please email her your request.
I strongly encourage you to get a Public Library card and set it up with a pin number, so you can request that titles from other locations be sent to the Indian Creek branch for you to pick up.
Click the image below if you would like to request a Kansas State Library card from Mrs. Mateer.
You will be directed to a form.
Your card will be delivered to you. If you are a parent, your card will be delivered to your student.
It might be wise to take a picture of your eCard number.
Kansas State Library cards need to be renewed every 3 years
I found these podcasts recently, and they were a fun listen!
I have taken the descriptions directly from :
Ooh! You’re in Trouble: Ooh! You’re in Trouble is a podcast for tweens, parents, and teachers about the rules we broke growing up…and what those moments teach kids about making smart decisions when grownups aren’t around. Each episode features young people sharing stories of a moment they broke the rules growing up. The series explores why kids defy rules and what we can learn from it.
But Why: A Podcast for Curious Kids: But Why is a show led by you, kids! You ask the questions and we find the answers. It’s a big interesting world out there. On But Why, we tackle topics large and small, about nature, words, even the end of the world.
Book Club for Kids: Book Club for Kids is a free, 20-minute podcast devoted to middle grade books and readers. Each show features a trio of students discussing a favorite book, an interview with the author, and a celebrity reading.
Brains On!: Brains On! is an award-winning audio show for kids and families. Each week, a different kid co-host joins Molly Bloom to find answers to fascinating questions about the world. Our mission is to encourage kids’ natural curiosity and wonder using science and history…but there’s no age limit on curiosity and episodes of Brains On can be enjoyed by anyone.
If you (and/or your family) listen to a great podcast, send me the information to my email.
Click the image below to access different resources for student writers
