Skip to Main Content

Oregon Trail Middle School: William Allen White

Library Media Center

William Allen White Nominees


The William Allen White Children's Book Award Program was founded in 1952 by Ruth Garver Gagliardo, a specialist in children’s literature for Emporia State University. The award was created to honor the memory of one of the state's most distinguished citizens. William Allen White was a journalist who promoted reading for the young and young at heart. This award is the oldest state-wide children's choice book award in the United States. Students who read at least two of the eleven nominated titles will be eligible to vote for their favorite title in the spring. Click on the blue title and watch a video book trailer to learn more about each book!

The nominees for the 2024-2025 school year are...

Attack of the Black Rectangles by A.S. King - Realistic Fiction
Falling Short by Ernesto Cisneros - Sports
The Fort by Gordon Korman - Adventure
Freewater by Amina Luqman-Dawson - Adventure
Jennifer Chan is Not Alone by Tae Keller - Adventure
Louisa June and the Nazis in the Waves by L.M. Elliott - Historical Fiction
Maizy Chen's Last Chance by Lisa Yee - Realistic Fiction
The Midnight Children by Dan Gemeinhart - Mystery
Miss Quinces by Kat Fajardo - Graphic Novel
Thirst by Varsha Bajaj - Realistic Fiction
Troublemaker by John Cho - Realistic Fiction
Two Degrees by Alan Gratz - Adventure
We Own the Sky - by Rodman Philbrick - Adventure
We Were the Fire: Birmingham, 1963 by Sheila P. Moses - Realistic Fiction

2024-2025 WAW Nominees